2022 Essay Contest

The Anesthesia History Association
announces the
2022 C. Ronald Stephen, M.D. Anesthesia History Essay Contest with the Raymond C. Roy, M.D. and Cornelia G. Roy Prize

Professor Stephen was one of the great pioneers of anesthesia history. This contest honors his achievements and leadership in research, clinical care, teaching, and the preservation of anesthesia history. The contest is open to medical students and physicians. Entries must be composed during medical school, residency, or fellowship. The winner will receive the Roy Prize ($1000.00). Essays should be less than 2500 words and may be on any topic in anesthesiology, pain medicine, or critical care.

The winning author will be invited to deliver a 30-minute oral presentation about the essay at the spring meeting of the Anesthesia History Association (AHA) held in Denver, Colorado April of 2022. A panel of experts from the AHA will judge the entries on originality, appropriateness, quality of research, writing style, and bibliography. The winner must submit the essay to the Journal of Anesthesia History (Elsevier). Acceptance is not guaranteed. For formatting and other instructions, please see the AHA website at ahaha.com

Entries must be received before 12:00 PM EDT on November 30 , 2021 atgale-gwin@ouhsc.edu. Receipt will be acknowledged to the sender’s email address.

Alberto J. de Armendi, MD, PhD, MBA
Chair of the 2022 C. Ron Stephen Anesthesia History Essay Contest


In 1905 George Santayana famously said, “Those who do not study history are condemned to repeat it.” Beyond this rather narrow motivation, members of the Anesthesia History Association would add that every anesthesiologist has an obligation to understand the history of the progress of anesthesia practice and technology as part of our claim to be “Professionals”.

One of the most accomplished and revered “Professionals” in the history of Anesthesiology was Dr. C. Ronald Stephen. Dr. Stephen’s contributions are too numerous to list here, except to say that he was not only a foremost Clinician, Investigator, and tireless Mentor, but also an early Leader in the effort to preserve and teach the History of Anesthesia.

Thus, after his death, the Anesthesia History Association established the annual C. Ronald Stephen Anesthesia History Essay Contest, which is open to all medical students and physicians who create the essay during medical school, residency, or fellowship. Raymond C. Roy, M.D. and Cornelia G. Roy have provided a prize of $1000.00 for the winner. (The 2021 winner was Grace Lee, MS3 from Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School in New Brunswick, NJ).

The winner will be offered the opportunity to present a condensed version of the winning essay orally at the Spring Meeting of the AHA in Denver, Colorado in April 2022. Travel funds are not available from AHA; but, registration at the meeting and the annual banquet admission are gratis to the winner and one guest.

Please watch oral presentations from prior essay contest winners at the AHA website, https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ANohnxgZFrnOK77WftWl0ZVaoyYqGDjd/view.

Entries can be on any topic related to the history of anesthesiology, pain medicine or critical care, and must be less than 2500 words in length. Formatting and submission information can be found at the AHA website, www.ahahq.org. Entries must be received before 12:00 PM EDT on November 30, 2021 at email address gale-gwin@ouhsc.edu.

Winning essays must be submitted to the Journal of Anesthesia History (JAH) and will be considered for, but are not guaranteed publication. Authors of submitted essays which do not win are also encouraged to submit their entries to JAH. JAH is the PubMed indexed, Elsevier published, electronic official journal of the AHA.

Please help us with this extremely useful educational experience by announcing the C. Ronald Stephen, M.D. Anesthesia Essay Contest to your medical students, and anesthesiology residents
and fellows.

Thank you for all the help you can lend to this annual event! Sincerely,


Raymond Roy, MD President, AHA www.ahahq.org

Alberto J. de Armendi, M.D., Ph.D., MBA.
Chair, 2022 C. Ronald Stephen, M.D. Anesthesia History Contest Committee alberto-dearmendi@ouhsc.edu



First Page
Abbreviated Title:
Topic: Related to the history of anesthesia, pain medicine or critical care medicine. Abstract: 200 words or less.

EssayLength: Fewerthan2500wordsinlength,excludingbibliography,abstract,title,authornamesandcontactinformation.




Illustrations: Figures:
T ables: Keywords:

Manuscripts should be prepared in Microsoft Word. Margins: One inch left, right, top, and bottom. Font and size: New Times Roman, 12 point.

Order and style should conform to the AMA Manual of Style.
A Guide for Authors and Editors, Tenth Edition, ISBN 0-978-0-19-517633-9 . (http://www.amamanualofstyle.com).
Color or black and white, each on a separate sheet (include relevant captions)(.jpg or .pdf). Each on a separate sheet (include relevant captions)(.jpg or .pdf).
Each on a separate sheet (include relevant captions)(.jpg or .pdf).


If illustrations, figures, or tables are not original, permission from the owner of the illustration for publication by the essay author needs to be included.

Second Page Title: Abbreviated title:

First author email address: First author postal address: First author title:
First author academic affiliation:

Second author email address: Second author postal address: Second author title:
Second author academic affiliation:

Repeat for additional authors.

*NOTE: All of the information must be placed so that it can be completely redacted for purposes of “blinded” judging. In addition, do not identify any academic or medical institution within the text of the manuscript.

Submissions should be received by 12:00 PM EDT November 30th, 2021 by email at Gale-Gwin@ouhsc.edu